Author Adding an GPS via the fuse system  (Read 1539 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Murphy   gb

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    215
    • ***
    • Topic Author

    Offline Murphy

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 215
    • Bike: DCT
    • City / Town: Suffolk
    • Country: gb
    Adding an GPS via the fuse system
    on: Sep 19, 2019, 02.17 pm
    Sep 19, 2019, 02.17 pm
    I’m thinking of wiring my GPS through a fuse spur inserted into the stop/tail/meter fuse. This is the kind of thing I’m talking about;
    https://www.halfords.com/technology/car-audio/stereo-fitting-accessories/autoleads-blade-add-a-fuse
    Has anyone done this? I don’t see a problem with the draw, the GPS is very low in that respect, rather the profile of the fuse spur possibly preventing the lid of the fuse box seating down.
    If you have done it, which did you use and where from?

    Cheers,
    Murph

  • Offline Grabcon   us

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    183
    • ***
      #1

    Offline Grabcon

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 183
    • Bike: VFR1200X
    • City / Town: Castle Rock, CO
    • Country: us
    Re: Adding an GPS via the fuse system
    Reply #1 on: Sep 19, 2019, 11.57 pm
    Sep 19, 2019, 11.57 pm
    I spent $14.00 on the Accessory Sub Harness (PART# - 08A00-MGH-640). It plugs in to an existing plug under the left side plastic. It has switched and un-switched connections. I use it for my after market heated grips, my GPS connection and an ANSI connector.

    I use inline fuses for each accessory.

    PART# - 08A00-MGH-640

  • Offline mzflorida   us

    • Crosstourer Master  ‐    586
    • ****
      #2

    Offline mzflorida

    • Crosstourer Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 586
    • Bike: 2016 VFR1200X,
    • City / Town: Estero
    • Country: us
    Re: Adding an GPS via the fuse system
    Reply #2 on: Sep 20, 2019, 12.23 am
    Sep 20, 2019, 12.23 am
    Unless you are dead set on your original plan, Grabcon's suggestion is the best option. 

  • Offline Murphy   gb

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    215
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #3

    Offline Murphy

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 215
    • Bike: DCT
    • City / Town: Suffolk
    • Country: gb
    Re: Adding an GPS via the fuse system
    Reply #3 on: Sep 20, 2019, 09.05 am
    Sep 20, 2019, 09.05 am
    My only issue with the sub harness is that its designed for Honda accessories so plugs etc then become an issue.
    Please correct me if I have the wrong idea here. My electrickery experience is largely confined to ‘70s bullet connectors and the like.

  • Offline Grabcon   us

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    183
    • ***
      #4

    Offline Grabcon

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 183
    • Bike: VFR1200X
    • City / Town: Castle Rock, CO
    • Country: us
    Re: Adding an GPS via the fuse system
    Reply #4 on: Sep 20, 2019, 12.09 pm
    Sep 20, 2019, 12.09 pm
    I forget where I got them but I bought plug kits that connected right to the Honda plugs and they were not very much money. Also they have these things called wire cutters and the plugs come right off. :001:

    Just google Honda Motorcycle connectors I am sure you will find something.

  • Offline KLC

    • Crosstourer Member  ‐    28
    • **
      #5

    Offline KLC

    • Crosstourer Member
    • **
    • Posts: 28
    Re: Adding an GPS via the fuse system
    Reply #5 on: Sep 20, 2019, 03.43 pm
    Sep 20, 2019, 03.43 pm
     Google this supplier , they do a 3 way, 4 way and a honda square block connector they come with the correct pins

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/190759584648

     



    arab-exile