Author Topic: How to wire in auxiliary lights.  (Read 3424 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Spademac

    • Crosstourer Junior  ‐    11
    • *
    • Topic Author

    Offline Spademac

    • Crosstourer Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 11
    • Bike: 2013 VFR X
    • City / Town: Crieff
    How to wire in auxiliary lights.
    on: May 18, 2019, 11.23 am
    May 18, 2019, 11.23 am
    Hi all, I dare say this topic has been covered several times in the past; however, being new to the forum I thought I'd ask for advice from scratch! I have a 2013 CT and want to attach 2 non Honda spot/ fog lamps, I have managed to get an auxiliary switch from the Africa twin that fits nicely in the panel next to the TC switch. I have also bought a genuine Honda quartet harness to plug into the spare (white) plug under the LHS panel. The only thing is, is that I'm not 100% sure how to wire them all in together!!! If any has a 'simple' wiring diagram to attach the lights, which are incidentally Lazymoa 40w LED's, I would appreciate the info. Also if possible provide info on whether the lights are wired directly onto the battery or via an ignition triggered relay?  Cheers in advance ..... Spademac.....  :440:

  • Offline Rinsewind

    • Crosstourer Junior  ‐    6
    • *
      #1

    Offline Rinsewind

    • Crosstourer Junior
    • *
    • Posts: 6
    • City / Town: Fareham
    Re: How to wire in auxiliary lights.
    Reply #1 on: Apr 20, 2020, 07.03 pm
    Apr 20, 2020, 07.03 pm
    Hi Spademac, just about to fit spots to mine and having the same questions you posed..
    How did you get on?...relay or straight to battery? Think i need all the help i can get.
    Thanks

  • Offline Superjeap

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    375
    • ***
      #2

    Offline Superjeap

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 375
    • Bike: VFR1200XD
    Re: How to wire in auxiliary lights.
    Reply #2 on: Apr 20, 2020, 08.16 pm
    Apr 20, 2020, 08.16 pm
    Too bad the new photo gallery on this site can't handle .pdf files, so I can give you a Wetransfer link
    ony available one week (april 27th)

    WETRANSFER FILES

  • Offline GA VFR   us

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    142
    • ***
      #3

    Offline GA VFR

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 142
    • Country: us
    • Bike: too many
    • City / Town: Alpharetta, GA
    Re: How to wire in auxiliary lights.
    Reply #3 on: Apr 21, 2020, 01.37 am
    Apr 21, 2020, 01.37 am
    Superjeap,

    Do you have the part number for the Honda fog light switch to be installed in front of the DTC switch on the top of the left fairing?
    Right now it is a blank plate and I don't think it is available over here. 

    Thank you and all of the best roads to you
    Follow your front wheel

  • Online Max2007

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    224
    • ***
      #4

    Online Max2007

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 224
    Re: How to wire in auxiliary lights.
    Reply #4 on: Apr 21, 2020, 06.51 am
    Apr 21, 2020, 06.51 am
    Maybe something like this! You can use it as principal!!

    I bought this part and it fits crosstourer!

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Rugged-Roads-OEM-Honda-Fog-Light-Switch-CRF1000-Africa-Twin-08V04MJPG50A/182295095733
    Last Edit: Apr 21, 2020, 07.02 am by Max2007

  • Offline Superjeap

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    375
    • ***
      #5

    Offline Superjeap

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 375
    • Bike: VFR1200XD
    Re: How to wire in auxiliary lights.
    Reply #5 on: Apr 21, 2020, 08.03 am
    Apr 21, 2020, 08.03 am
    Relay is always the safe way to go, but not necessary when using origional quartet harness.
    The CT switch is not available, but as mentioned before the AT is the same


  • Offline Superjeap

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    375
    • ***
      #7

    Offline Superjeap

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 375
    • Bike: VFR1200XD
    Re: How to wire in auxiliary lights.
    Reply #7 on: Apr 24, 2020, 09.25 am
    Apr 24, 2020, 09.25 am
    Be carefull with those GL switches, they do have other connectors!!
    Only use the (verified fit) Africa Twin switch.

     



    arab-exile