Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Changing grips and leaving OEM heat in place?  (Read 840 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DEMBONES

  • Crosstourer Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 476
  • Bike: 2016 VFR1200XD
  • City / Town: PacNW
  • Country: USA
Changing grips and leaving OEM heat in place?
« on: April 15, 2019, 11:19:58 AM »
I have the OEM 5 position Honda heated grips on my CT.  They came pre-installed from the dealer I bought from in 2016 and I have no desire to disconnect them or change to aftermarket (Oxford, etc.)  I do however have a desire to switch the OEM grips out to an aftermarket set and was wondering if anyone here has done the procedure successfully w/o damaging the heating elements?  Is it just a matter of carefully cutting off the stock grips w/o damaging the glued on heating elements or will I likely find the heating elements also stuck to the inside of the grips and therefore not reusable?

I also have a Kaoko throttle lock so any grip installation complexity is slightly increased because of that as well.

TIA!   :020:

Offline Plane Dr

  • Crosstourer Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Bike: 2016 VFR1200xDCT
  • City / Town: DFW Metromess
  • Country: USA
Re: Changing grips and leaving OEM heat in place?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2019, 01:23:33 PM »
I was wondering the same thing.  There is an oversized grip set for BMW's for that.  I was considering a set of them.
Bikes are like women.  What you want and what you think you want change after the first ride.

Offline DEMBONES

  • Crosstourer Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 476
  • Bike: 2016 VFR1200XD
  • City / Town: PacNW
  • Country: USA
Re: Changing grips and leaving OEM heat in place?
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2019, 02:47:09 PM »
My OEM grips are pretty much shot (with only 10K miles.)  I never was impressed with their feel and size (too small for my big mitts.)

I'm looking at the ProGrip 714.  My favorite grip of all time.  They are perfect for me.


Offline Hartley

  • Crosstourer God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2843
  • Bike: Crosstourer
  • City / Town: Northampton
  • Country: England
Re: Changing grips and leaving OEM heat in place?
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2019, 03:46:34 PM »
I changed my OEM grips for Oxfords.
If I recall the elements are part of the grips, I doubt you could remove them without removing the element.


Offline GarySN

  • Crosstourer Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Bike: VFR1200X
  • Country: UK
Re: Changing grips and leaving OEM heat in place?
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2019, 03:58:17 PM »
*Originally Posted by DEMBONES [+]
I'm looking at the ProGrip 714.  My favorite grip of all time.  They are perfect for me.
These should work for what you want, but you'll need to work out the wiring.

https://www.amazon.com/Heat-Demon-External-Motorcycle-210019RR/dp/B001AWRCJO/ref=sr_1_4?crid=21FVNZ3IPKLG1&keywords=heat+demon+heated+grips&qid=1555340225&s=gateway&sprefix=heat+dwemon%2Caps%2C612&sr=8-4

Offline Hartley

  • Crosstourer God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2843
  • Bike: Crosstourer
  • City / Town: Northampton
  • Country: England
Re: Changing grips and leaving OEM heat in place?
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2019, 04:58:34 PM »
Just wondering, if you cut off the OEM grips but can retain the heating element how will you control the grips as the switch is part of the LH grip?


Offline DEMBONES

  • Crosstourer Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 476
  • Bike: 2016 VFR1200XD
  • City / Town: PacNW
  • Country: USA
Re: Changing grips and leaving OEM heat in place?
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2019, 06:07:46 PM »
*Originally Posted by Hartley [+]
Just wondering, if you cut off the OEM grips but can retain the heating element how will you control the grips as the switch is part of the LH grip?

Is it? That's precisely the kind of thing that has me posing the question. You guys aren't sounding like it would work. Surely someone has tried?  :187:

Offline Hartley

  • Crosstourer God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2843
  • Bike: Crosstourer
  • City / Town: Northampton
  • Country: England
Re: Changing grips and leaving OEM heat in place?
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2019, 09:41:00 PM »
Dembones,

The controller is built in as in the image: