Author Topic: My bad experience with first time I've fitted a tall screen on my bike  (Read 3158 times)

• Offline Paul82

• Crosstourer Member  ‐    56
    • Topic Author

Offline Paul82

• Crosstourer Member
    • Topic Author
    • Bike: 2012 VFR1200X
    • City / Town: Yanchep
    My bad experience with first time I've fitted a tall screen on my bike
    on: Aug 09, 2017, 05.23 am
    Aug 09, 2017, 05.23 am
    I’ve been riding bikes for 16 years & I have never had a tall screen fitted to any of the motorcycle’s I’ve owned. (Honda XR250, XR400, KTM LC4 640 Supermoto, Tiger 1050, Now the Crosstourer) I always preferred to have a bike with no screen, or a small screen & let the wind hit me below my helmet. I don’t like the look of tall screens. & One would have to get a Very tall screen to avoid buffeting of the helmet.

I must be getting old, I recently changed my mind, getting tired of the constant blast of wind noise from the standard small CT screen.

So I bought a PUIG touring screen on eBay, fitted it, but it was still too short, it directed wind straight into the top of my helmet, no good...

So I decided to order a Laminar Lip & I fitted it to the top of the Puig screen…  It was then pretty much perfect! It threw the wind higher up over my helmet, no more wind noise at all! (though I find it slightly off putting, the top of the screen being so close to my line of vision. But just something to get used to)
    So much nicer to ride not getting wind blasted. Nice & QUIET! I can actually hear the engine very well! Very VERY happy with it!!...  :001:

Very happy with it until… I rode in the rain!!! OMG It was a nightmare!!  :172: