Author Topic: ECU software  (Read 3038 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline muzungu66

    • Crosstourer Junior  ‐    4
    • *
    • Topic Author

    Offline muzungu66

    • Crosstourer Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 4
    • Bike: crosstourer
    • City / Town: pretoria
    ECU software
    on: May 10, 2017, 01.40 pm
    May 10, 2017, 01.40 pm
    hi

    I have a question, is it possible to disable the dual breaking? I have the 2012 model.

    can one upgrade the ECU software at all to have rider settings?

  • Offline veeefour

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    290
    • ***
      #1

    Offline veeefour

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 290
    • Bike: VFR1200F
    Re: ECU software
    Reply #1 on: May 10, 2017, 02.20 pm
    May 10, 2017, 02.20 pm
    You need to talk to Guhl Motors in USA - he is the only person who really cracked this ECU(DCT as well).

  • Offline Plane Dr

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    223
    • ***
      #2

    Offline Plane Dr

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 223
    • Bike: 2016 VFR1200xDCT
    • City / Town: DFW Metromess
    Re: ECU software
    Reply #2 on: May 10, 2017, 06.50 pm
    May 10, 2017, 06.50 pm
    I've seen references to it (ecu reflash) I haven't searched on it myself.

    The brakes are plumbed as linked.  You'd have to redo a chunk of the system.  Anything can be done.
    Bikes are like women.  What you want and what you think you want change after the first ride.

  • Offline Hartley   england

    • Crosstourer God  ‐    3074
    • *****
      #3

    Offline Hartley

    • Crosstourer God
    • *****
    • Posts: 3074
    • Country: england
    • Bike: Crosstourer
    • City / Town: Northampton
    Re: ECU software
    Reply #3 on: May 10, 2017, 06.53 pm
    May 10, 2017, 06.53 pm
    Why disable it? Is this for off-road? Just curious, not making a judgement.


  • Offline muzungu66

    • Crosstourer Junior  ‐    4
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • #4

    Offline muzungu66

    • Crosstourer Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 4
    • Bike: crosstourer
    • City / Town: pretoria
    Re: ECU software
    Reply #4 on: May 11, 2017, 07.02 am
    May 11, 2017, 07.02 am
    *Originally Posted by Plane Dr [+]
    I've seen references to it (ecu reflash) I haven't searched on it myself.

    The brakes are plumbed as linked.  You'd have to redo a chunk of the system.  Anything can be done.

    yes for offroad, the front brake with the back quite harch. this can create some challenges

  • Offline muzungu66

    • Crosstourer Junior  ‐    4
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • #5

    Offline muzungu66

    • Crosstourer Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 4
    • Bike: crosstourer
    • City / Town: pretoria
    Re: ECU software
    Reply #5 on: May 11, 2017, 07.04 am
    May 11, 2017, 07.04 am
    *Originally Posted by Plane Dr [+]
    I've seen references to it (ecu reflash) I haven't searched on it myself.

    The brakes are plumbed as linked.  You'd have to redo a chunk of the system.  Anything can be done.
    the reply they sent me. Next question--ABS control unit boffins?

    I believe that the braking system is controlled by the ABS control unit, so I can't do anything with it in the ECU.
    Thanks,
    Don Guhl

  • Offline Plane Dr

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    223
    • ***
      #6

    Offline Plane Dr

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 223
    • Bike: 2016 VFR1200xDCT
    • City / Town: DFW Metromess
    Re: ECU software
    Reply #6 on: May 11, 2017, 09.56 pm
    May 11, 2017, 09.56 pm
    There are 2 aspects to the system.  It is hard plumbed 1 piston on the front left is tied to the rear master.  Maybe by eliminating the plumbing you're good.  I would think not.

    The aBS controller will take data from both wheels and meter brake application accordingly.  So my "guess" is if the rear approaches lock up it will shuttle application to the front circuit.  But if it sees a certain wheel speed differential what does it do?

    I would bet if you replumbed it and pulled the circuit breaker (fuse) you'd be fine.  But then no ABS.  I have also seen gold post it doesn't function below 6(?) mph.  Or just bypass the ABS controller and go to an old school rear brake.  That I think is the only way to achieve it.  But that would likely drive the TC into a conniption.  But if that's turned off?
    Bikes are like women.  What you want and what you think you want change after the first ride.

  • Offline quoman

    • Crosstourer Member  ‐    41
    • **
      #7

    Offline quoman

    • Crosstourer Member
    • **
    • Posts: 41
    • Bike: Highlander 120se
    • City / Town: West wickham
    Re: ECU software
    Reply #7 on: Jun 25, 2017, 09.24 am
    Jun 25, 2017, 09.24 am
    Maybe you could pull the abs fuse to try it but I'm guessing the bike won't start

     



    arab-exile