Author Topic: Garmin Zuma  (Read 3518 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline baudbish

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    126
    • ***
    • Topic Author

    Offline baudbish

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 126
    • Bike: 2012 1200X DCT
    • City / Town: Lincolnshire
    Garmin Zuma
    on: Nov 14, 2016, 10.14 pm
    Nov 14, 2016, 10.14 pm
    I have a Garmin Zuma fitted on the left bracket as the clamp supplied with it is too narrow to fit across the centre of the handlebar.  I would ideally like the sat nav to fit centrally but I haven't found a suitable mount/solution.

    Any one have any experience with this or recommendations  :440:?

    Ta.

  • Offline ukstu

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    488
    • ***
      #1

    Offline ukstu

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 488
    • Bike: Crosstourer
    • City / Town: Warrington
    Re: Garmin Zuma
    Reply #1 on: Nov 14, 2016, 10.18 pm
    Nov 14, 2016, 10.18 pm
    I and a few others on here have used Engimoto mount. Works well for my Zumo. It sits in the centre just above the speedo and behind the screen.

    Stu

  • Offline baudbish

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    126
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline baudbish

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 126
    • Bike: 2012 1200X DCT
    • City / Town: Lincolnshire
    Re: Garmin Zuma
    Reply #2 on: Nov 14, 2016, 10.34 pm
    Nov 14, 2016, 10.34 pm
    Thanks Stu.  I was also looking at the ball mount that fit onto the top of the yoke...I have seen one on flea-bay but I'm unsure as to it quality or suitability.

  • Offline Martymouse

    • Crosstourer Master  ‐    592
    • ****
      #3

    Offline Martymouse

    • Crosstourer Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 592
    • Bike: VFR1200X DCT
    • City / Town: Holywell
    Re: Garmin Zuma
    Reply #3 on: Nov 15, 2016, 01.44 am
    Nov 15, 2016, 01.44 am
    I have tried a few options and always ended up back with the Palmer screen mount with cross bar; solid enough and I can get the screen right (for me).

    I have also used this when I was trying out the Givi Aero screen: https://www.amazon.co.uk/d/GPS-Navigation-Accessories/Ultimate-Addons-Motorcycle-Bike-Mount-Handlebar-Attachment/B006PESG3S/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1479173695&sr=8-5&keywords=ram+mount+motorcycle
    It clamps nicely to the centre of the handle bars and then I use the double-ended clamp to set up the satnav in the right place (it comes with the Zuma).  I found it was a bit too low and I was looking down to the sat nav.

    I also tried out a nicely made bit of kit from eBay (not sold at the moment though) that fitted behind the standard or Givi screen. Very similar to the Engimoto in design.  I found it bounced a little too much for me - maybe I didn't mount it up tight enough.  Again you clamp to the satnav to a bar which is a different mounting to the Engimoto.   PM me if you want me to send it over and you can give it a try.
    Puch125, CD175, CB175, C90, CB100, CB900, VF750, K100, CBR1000, CBR1000, DR650SE, RF900R, Bayliner, RF900R, Super Blackbird, Piaggio X9 125, Burgman 650, Hayabusa, VFR1200F, VFR1200X, F800 GT,

  • Offline baudbish

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    126
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #4

    Offline baudbish

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 126
    • Bike: 2012 1200X DCT
    • City / Town: Lincolnshire
    Re: Garmin Zuma
    Reply #4 on: Nov 15, 2016, 08.56 am
    Nov 15, 2016, 08.56 am
    Thanks MM - I have PM'd you (sorry - far too many initialism's in such a short sentence) :087:

  • Offline andyrob

    • Crosstourer Master  ‐    694
    • ****
      #5

    Offline andyrob

    • Crosstourer Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 694
    • Bike: VFRXDCT
    • City / Town: Beith, Ex-0141
    Re: Garmin Zuma
    Reply #5 on: Nov 16, 2016, 08.42 am
    Nov 16, 2016, 08.42 am
    Hello Folks,

    Anybody using ye olde 660 Garmin and has a spare 2 or 4GB memory card that works in the device?

    Had a hell of a time researching what card and buying what I was told was the correct type only to get home and the card/s dont register. Lots of wee dods of memory for the camera now. :015:

    Need it cos I could not have UK and the Euro maps that I needed due to the small internal memory. Took me a while to get in and out of Newcastle!


  • Offline baudbish

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    126
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #6

    Offline baudbish

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 126
    • Bike: 2012 1200X DCT
    • City / Town: Lincolnshire
    Re: Garmin Zuma
    Reply #6 on: Nov 16, 2016, 08.54 am
    Nov 16, 2016, 08.54 am
    andyrob,

    I don't have a compatible card but due to the age of the device, would a Class 4 card be suitable?  The vast majority of memory cards nowadays are Class 10 which do not work in older devices as they expect the data transfer rate to be higher than what older devices can deliver.

    Also, remember to initialise/format the card on your computer to FAT32 - your unit may not be able to recognise an unformatted memory card.

    Just a thought.
    Last Edit: Nov 16, 2016, 08.56 am by baudbish

  • Offline andyrob

    • Crosstourer Master  ‐    694
    • ****
      #7

    Offline andyrob

    • Crosstourer Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 694
    • Bike: VFRXDCT
    • City / Town: Beith, Ex-0141
    Re: Garmin Zuma
    Reply #7 on: Nov 16, 2016, 11.31 am
    Nov 16, 2016, 11.31 am
     Appreciate the reply baudbish. I will try the formatting of the card on the PC. Don't think I had done that.  :031:

    Was murder trying to get hold of "old tech" plus making sure it was for the right variant of 660.