Author No pre load adjustment  (Read 4373 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Maverick

    • Crosstourer Master  ‐    592
    • ****
    • Topic Author

    Offline Maverick

    • Crosstourer Master
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 592
    • City / Town: East Sussex
    No pre load adjustment
    on: Oct 31, 2015, 02.11 pm
    Oct 31, 2015, 02.11 pm
    Thought I would have another go at adjusting pre load on the rear.

    Could not more adjuster, oiled and moves a bit. Sqeaks and 1 click heard but only a few turns able.

    Tried the new  model and loads of turning and clicks.....way over 20

    Is this normal to seize up and fail?


  • Offline pete fairbairn   england

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    424
    • ***
      #1

    Offline pete fairbairn

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 424
    • Bike: crosstourer dct
    • City / Town: york
    • Country: england
    Re: No pre load adjustment
    Reply #1 on: Oct 31, 2015, 02.42 pm
    Oct 31, 2015, 02.42 pm
    Yes it does seize up and breaks, i have a  mint 400 mile rear shock bought for when my bike is out of warrenty. But iam going to get a new lowered one built and fitted to help with my short arsed legs.PM me if interested

  • Offline TiuSo

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    206
    • ***
      #2

    Offline TiuSo

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 206
    • Bike: VFR1200XD
    • City / Town: Kangasala
    Re: No pre load adjustment
    Reply #2 on: Oct 31, 2015, 04.10 pm
    Oct 31, 2015, 04.10 pm
    Mine was replaced as warranty. The knob is known to seize..

  • Offline Hartley   england

    • Crosstourer God  ‐    3078
    • *****
      #3

    Offline Hartley

    • Crosstourer God
    • *****
    • Posts: 3078
    • Bike: Crosstourer
    • City / Town: Northampton
    • Country: england
    Re: No pre load adjustment
    Reply #3 on: Oct 31, 2015, 04.33 pm
    Oct 31, 2015, 04.33 pm
    Apparently the new/replacement shocks have a different adjuster knob, now has an "o" ring to keep water out.

    Paul


  • Offline steve   wales

    • Crosstourer Master  ‐    610
    • ****
      #4

    Offline steve

    • Crosstourer Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 610
    • Bike: VFR1200XD
    • City / Town: Llanelli
    • Country: wales
    Re: No pre load adjustment
    Reply #4 on: Oct 31, 2015, 06.52 pm
    Oct 31, 2015, 06.52 pm
    Mine has been replaced but I still expect it to seize up like my original one.

  • Offline Saxon747   gb

    • Crosstourer Master  ‐    858
    • ****
      #5

    Offline Saxon747

    • Crosstourer Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 858
    • Bike: Highlander DCT
    • City / Town: Lincoln
    • Country: gb
    Re: No pre load adjustment
    Reply #5 on: Oct 31, 2015, 06.57 pm
    Oct 31, 2015, 06.57 pm
    It's also serviceable, but everyone seems to go for the replacement under warranty fix, bar one CT owner that I know. Mine was replaced but that was due to it leaking oil and not seizing up. They need a good workout every so often, unless you never wash your bike or go out in the wet.

  • Offline slomogadgie   scotland

    • Non Active
    • Crosstourer Master  ‐    1233
    • *
      #6

    Offline slomogadgie

    • Non Active
    • Crosstourer Master
    • *
    • Posts: 1233
    • Bike: Olde School CT
    • City / Town: Peternapper
    • Country: scotland
    Re: No pre load adjustment
    Reply #6 on: Nov 01, 2015, 02.09 am
    Nov 01, 2015, 02.09 am

  • Offline GeofftheChef   gb

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    351
    • ***
      #7

    Offline GeofftheChef

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 351
    • Bike: VFR1200X Black
    • City / Town: Manchester
    • Country: gb
    Re: No pre load adjustment
    Reply #7 on: Nov 01, 2015, 07.19 pm
    Nov 01, 2015, 07.19 pm
    Mine was recently replaced under warranty . . .seized and was informed by dealer that it is common problem, now rectified as Hartley explains in earlier post. get it done now as out of warranty is in excess of £1000 job to replace.

     



    arab-exile