Author Topic: Learnt something today  (Read 4566 times)

Offline Hartley

• Crosstourer God
  • Bike: Crosstourer
  • City / Town: Northampton
Learnt something today
on: August 27, 2015, 11:32:49 PM
Got home to a Notice of intention to prosecute today for speeding.
71 MPH on the A21 dual carrageway which i thought was a bit harsh as the limit is 70. I didnt know that the limit for a van was 60 on a dual carriageway. Im not a van driver by trade and only used to drive one occaisionally for my old job, im well pi55ed off.

I had a clean licence and always thought that if i got caught itd be, hands up, fair enough, i knew the rules and broke them but to get caught out like that, im gutted.

Paul

Offline Dave606

• Crosstourer Pro
  • Bike: CT Highlander-T
Re: Learnt something today
Reply #1 on: August 28, 2015, 05:44:17 PM
I fell foul of exactly the same rule 25 years ago..........

So how come white van man is always on my tail when I am doing '70' in my car or on my bike?

Offline Hartley

• Crosstourer God
Reply #2 on: August 28, 2015, 06:00:26 PM
 I was working and I don't speed ( well not knowingly) when I'm on the clock. I guess white van man knows to slow down if he sees a camera, I sailed straight past in ignorance of the limit.

Paul

Offline steve

• Crosstourer Master
  • Bike: VFR1200XD
  • City / Town: Llanelli
Reply #3 on: August 28, 2015, 10:49:42 PM
You should get the offer of a speed awareness course, if your local police force do them. No points if you do the course and it costs £85 but that depends on the area.

I got done for doing 86 on a dual carriageway, after doing an overtake and no other cars on the road, except for an undercover copper hiding on a bridge, just around a bend.
My mate who was shadowing me got nothing, not even spoken too.

Offline Hartley

• Crosstourer God
Reply #4 on: September 07, 2015, 11:51:02 PM