Author Topic: Here we go Danni or Kylie , Tom Tom or garmin  (Read 3383 times)

Offline Tonyj

• Ex Member
  • Crosstourer Pro
Here we go Danni or Kylie , Tom Tom or garmin
on: October 16, 2013, 06:21:36 AM
First question is probably a bit harder to settle,but on the sat nav front I've been using a v2 rider for about 5 years and this is used every day on the Silverwing for work and on main bike for trips into Europe .
its recently been playing up i.e. charging docks fuse blown etc,sorted these issues by using our friend the Internet so all good now  but I know it won't be long before it goes to sat nav heaven?,
So as and when I replace , do I go with Tom Tom rider,(not to sure on new format )or zumo , I like the fact you can plot routes for the zumo but like the simplicity of the Tomas . Does anyone one have experience of both , I know it's subjective hence title but have seen post saying the zumo660 can't be seen in daylight ? But at certain angles nor can my Tom Tom , I'm open for comparisons really
I've mounted the ram mount on the bars of the ct, yet to actually use it on this bike as I've only been on it 3 times (500) miles , getting itching feet now , so might be planing a trip down to the algarve this coming year

Offline 1coolbanana

• Crosstourer Pro
  • City / Town: NW Sydney
Re: Here we go Danni or Kylie , Tom Tom or garmin
Reply #1 on: October 16, 2013, 06:55:25 AM
My experience with both would say TomTom wins hands down for road riding in its easy to use interface and usability.
BUT, if you plan on complicated routes especially "off the commonly beaten track" the the Zumo is the hands down winner with its ability to route, use waypoints, Basecamp software than can be used in Google Earth, the eas of sharing custom routes etc makes the Zumo a pretty good thing too.

Me personally, I cant go back to TomTom as you cant do what I need to do.
You cant share maps youve created in a universal format (gpx) like you can with the Zumo either.