Author Topic: DCT in Manual  (Read 3845 times)

Offline Doc

• Crosstourer Master
  • Bike: Africa Twin DCT
  • City / Town: Arsbeck
DCT in Manual
on: August 14, 2013, 12:26:57 PM
I've been riding the CT since Apr 2012, and have usually used the bike in S-Mode, switching up and down with the manual buttons when required.

For the past 10 days, I have been on tour in the Alps and Dolomites, and have used the bike in manual mode almost the whole time - what a difference! Going up and down those passes was a dream.

I've really got the DCT manual mode sorted now, so for those twisties, it's manual mode for me from now on.  :305:

Has anyone else really given the manual mode a long try-out?

Offline Bitteliten

• Crosstourer Pro
Re: DCT in Manual
Reply #1 on: August 14, 2013, 01:48:20 PM
I use all 3 modes almost every time I ride, dependent on my mood and what kind of roads

Tried new GS some weeks ago, and I do not want to go back to stone age manual gear box.

Offline ojo

• Crosstourer Master
  • Bike: VFR 1200XD white
  • City / Town: Stans
Reply #2 on: August 14, 2013, 03:19:14 PM
Having done many a trip and over 40t km's by now here my habits:
Say on early mornings when you still are a bit lazy or in towns i am usually on D-mode. But then many times even shortly i switch to manual say for example pulling out of a roundabout quick. Manual almost a must and beeing really fun on windy roads or on mountain passes.
Then again switch back to D when strolling through long stretches and villages ... i seldom use S-mode.
Around the world and back ... driven Honda motorbikes all over Europe, Australia, NewZealand, Japan, Russia .....
my latest trip: http://www.austral.omania.ch/index.html

Offline GeofftheChef

• Crosstourer Pro
  • Bike: VFR1200X Black
  • City / Town: Manchester
Reply #3 on: August 14, 2013, 07:06:32 PM