Author Topic: Newbie in Staffordshire (UK)  (Read 1679 times)

Offline Adromar

• Crosstourer Junior
Newbie in Staffordshire (UK)
on: July 09, 2013, 02:40:59 PM
Hi Folks :031:
Another newbie here.
I ride a CBF1000 at the moment and love it but I am thinking of up-grading to a new CrossTourer (spell checker doesn't like this) or an Explorer 1200.
I have test ridden both and liked both, so I am not sure what to do.
I love Honda's but we have a very good Triumph dealer nearby and friends who work their are trying to sway me over to Triumph.
I am looking for advice / influence etc from experienced owners, are you happy with your choice?
Does it do what you expected it to do?
Any problems to look out for?
I don't like the Honda luggage they do for the Cross Tourer!
I have some Kappa boxes I would want to fit somehow, I will make brackets if I can find somewhere to bolt to.
Looking forward to some feedback.
Cheers to all.
Adrian
Uttoxeter UK

Offline Mika

• Crosstourer Master
  • Bike: VFR1200X
  • City / Town: Ayr
Re: Newbie in Staffordshire (UK)
Reply #1 on: July 09, 2013, 02:51:07 PM
 :400: to the forum Adrian

There are a few who have recently joined after owning the Explorer so they are probably the best people to give you a direct opinion.

Plenty here have opted for after market luggage as there are problems with water getting in on the OE Honda kit which is also very expensive

Probably the biggest sway if you look through the forums for both the CT and the TEX is the Honda does not have any major problems that Triumph owners are experiencing with mechanical reliability, yes there are a few minor inconveniences with the CT but nothing in comparison to the Triumph

Personally I found it to be the most comfortable bike over distance that I have ever owned and a fantastic V4 engine that will return 50mpg when touring