Author Vibrations using a Migsel ram mount for my GPS  (Read 6145 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline GS TRV

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    288
    • ***
    • Topic Author

    Offline GS TRV

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 288
    • Bike: VFR1200XD
    • City / Town: Belfast
    Vibrations using a Migsel ram mount for my GPS
    on: Apr 06, 2013, 10.31 am
    Apr 06, 2013, 10.31 am
    I've recently put a ram mount on to my CT with a Migsel mount. All fits fine but the annoying thing is that at virtually all speeds I get a fair bit of vibration through the mount which makes it hard to read the screen of the Zumo.

    Anyone had any experiences of how to kill off those vibrations?

    Thanks

    Trev

  • Offline GS TRV

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    288
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #1

    Offline GS TRV

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 288
    • Bike: VFR1200XD
    • City / Town: Belfast
    Re: Vibrations using a Migsel ram mount for my GPS
    Reply #1 on: Apr 06, 2013, 10.32 am
    Apr 06, 2013, 10.32 am
    First pic

  • Offline GS TRV

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    288
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline GS TRV

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 288
    • Bike: VFR1200XD
    • City / Town: Belfast
    Re: Vibrations using a Migsel ram mount for my GPS
    Reply #2 on: Apr 06, 2013, 10.33 am
    Apr 06, 2013, 10.33 am
    Other side

  • Offline SPW999

    • Non Active
    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    296
    • *
      #3

    Offline SPW999

    • Non Active
    • Crosstourer Pro
    • *
    • Posts: 296
    • Bike: VFR1200X-Silver
    • City / Town: Singleton
    Re: Vibrations using a Migsel ram mount for my GPS
    Reply #3 on: Apr 06, 2013, 10.59 am
    Apr 06, 2013, 10.59 am
    GS TRV.
    I have a Zumo 660 - with a Touratech Lockable GPS Mount - fitted to a Migsel mount.
    If you look at the thread link below, and view my comments on 13/03/13 at 10.03. am.
    https://www.crosstourer.com/index.php/topic,1371.16.html


    Yes it does vibrate, so much so that if the ram mount is not tightened extremely tightly the whole unit moves.  I can see no way of reducing the vibration, especially as the Ram mounting balls are rubber, be it hard rubber.


    Maybe someone else has come up with a cunning plan. ?? :084:


     :305:     Sean




  • Offline GS TRV

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    288
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #4

    Offline GS TRV

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 288
    • Bike: VFR1200XD
    • City / Town: Belfast
    Re: Vibrations using a Migsel ram mount for my GPS
    Reply #4 on: Apr 06, 2013, 11.14 am
    Apr 06, 2013, 11.14 am
    Sean

    That's a bummer then. I must say I am a bit disappointed. Especially since I had an sw motech mount on previously but removed it as it forced my field of vision too low.

    Trev

  • Offline Nickel

    • Crosstourer Master  ‐    620
    • ****
      #5

    Offline Nickel

    • Crosstourer Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 620
    Re: Vibrations using a Migsel ram mount for my GPS
    Reply #5 on: Apr 06, 2013, 05.32 pm
    Apr 06, 2013, 05.32 pm
    I have a zumo 550 with a migsel and yes, there is a little vibration by the metal of the mount itselfs. I don't think you can fix that, it's the mount itself that is vibrating. Still can read my zumo though.

  • Offline Allroadtoad

    • Crosstourer Master  ‐    606
    • ****
      #6

    Offline Allroadtoad

    • Crosstourer Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 606
    Re: Vibrations using a Migsel ram mount for my GPS
    Reply #6 on: Apr 06, 2013, 05.47 pm
    Apr 06, 2013, 05.47 pm
     my migselmount vibrates somewhat but nothing really disturbing...

  • Offline Feet up

    • Crosstourer Pro  ‐    231
    • ***
      #7

    Offline Feet up

    • Crosstourer Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 231
    • Bike: RED CTX
    • City / Town: Barwell
    Re: Vibrations using a Migsel ram mount for my GPS
    Reply #7 on: Apr 06, 2013, 07.16 pm
    Apr 06, 2013, 07.16 pm
    I’m not familiar with that type of mount but from what I can see from the the photographs the thickness of plate used looks insufficient allowing it to flex. Is there room to fit a reinforcing gusset underneath the mount?