Author Topic: 360 heated grips  (Read 5964 times)

Offline fletch

• Crosstourer Member
  • Bike: Jury still out !
  • City / Town: Heath Hayes
360 heated grips
on: March 04, 2013, 12:19:09 PM
Hope you can help. Should the genuine honda heated grips maintain a constant temperature once selected. Only used mine twice since I had the bike fom new last Friday, one short journey, one 270 miles. Grips seemed to be turning on and off.    :003:  Also right grip seems hotter than the left. Hope you guys can give me some guidance before the dealer contacts and asks how things are going. Tried looking back through some old threads but can't see anything.

Offline Southern Man

• Crosstourer Pro
  • Bike: Crosstourer
Re: 360 heated grips
Reply #1 on: March 04, 2013, 03:51:23 PM
Hi Fletch,

I'm not an expert on these things but I always think the right seems a little hotter as you tend to be gripping the throttle and trying to do things gently? That's my theory. Also. the heated grips are controlled by some electronics in a small cover which if installed incorrectly can invite water in and give problems. I was told by the dealer that the circuit board meters the outputs and can adjust what it receives and delivers. Maybe this explains, I don't know??

Offline Mika

• Crosstourer Master
  • Bike: VFR1200X
  • City / Town: Ayr
Reply #2 on: March 04, 2013, 04:24:58 PM
*Originally Posted by Southern Man [+]
Hi Fletch,

I'm not an expert on these things but I always think the right seems a little hotter as you tend to be gripping the throttle and trying to do things gently? That's my theory. Also. the heated grips are controlled by some electronics in a small cover which if installed incorrectly can invite water in and give problems. I was told by the dealer that the circuit board meters the outputs and can adjust what it receives and delivers. Maybe this explains, I don't know??